But This One Thing…

I have experienced almost every season of motherhood. I have been or currently am:

– Married

– Mom of four children

– Mom of 2 boys and 2 girls

– Mom of a child with disabilities

– Stay at home mom

– Home-school mom

– Mom who worked part-time

– Mom who attended college full-time

– Mom who worked full-time

– Mom who has 4 children in 4 different schools

– Mom of 2 teenagers and 2 elementary age children

– Mom of a marching band member who plays percussion

– Mom of 3 athletes who play basketball, volleyball & soccer

– Mom whose family actively attends church and church activities

And the list goes on and on…

I have been able to manage quite a bit as a mom.  We live an hour and 30 minutes from our closest relative. Although we have been blessed with many friends, church family and family (who drove 100 miles) to help significantly along the way, most of our marriage, it was just Todd & I.

I can say in each season, I honestly longed for the next season, missing several moments along the way. I always want more…thinking each new stage will bring more to my life. If only, creeps in to my head and I begin to think, “if only this happens, then life will be all it should be”. When it does, there are always new challenges and victories and I thrive to do it all well. I find myself doing a lot of things well but you see that’s the thing; I don’t want to do a lot of things well. I want to do one thing really great!

Several years ago, when my plate was overflowing as in so many seasons of my life, I did this study about Mary and Martha.

Their story is found in Luke 10, beginning with verse 38.

38 Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house. 39 And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. 40 But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her then to help me.”41 But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, 42 but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

I love this story for several reasons. Especially this one, the Lord’s answer; it is so sweet and yet life changing. Jesus says to Martha, ” Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary.

In the book, Having a Mary Heart in a Martha Worldthe author explains it like this, “He (Jesus) gently took my hand, then wiped away my tears.” It was good. Perhaps it was even important. But it wasn’t my plan for you.” She (the author) says, “I realized then that, while there are many things to be done, things I’m capable of doing and want to do, I am not always the one to do them. This is hard when you are a doer, when you thrive off of accomplishing tasks. When you believe you are because of what you’ve done.

But there’s this one thing….sitting at the Lord’s feet. When I sit at the Lord’s feet, I realize I am not defined by deeds or tasks. I realize that while there are things that seem really important in those moments, my family and I are more than those moments. That basking in the Love of Jesus is enough and all I need. God called me many years ago to motherhood (yes, some women are called into motherhood.). I am unsettled about staying home doing “nothing” but God is testing me. He is testing me to see if I will be faithful in serving him when it is mundane. Who knew being a mom would be a calling from God. But for me it had to be, I am an outgoing, people loving person. So to stay at home without interaction from others drives me crazy. I thrive off others. God has shown me that He wants to use me but I carry a lot of baggage and instead of unloading it, I continue to fill it. I do this even when I am decluttering my home. I get rid of stuff to add more stuff?! That’s not decluttering!

My prayer is for my children to love Jesus and Jesus showed me that I need to be committed to being at home and showing them His love and His ways. This is my prayer for my children…

Philippians 1: 9 I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding. 10 For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return. 11 May you always be filled with the fruit of your salvation—the righteous character produced in your life by Jesus Christ—for this will bring much glory and praise to God.

Can a mother accomplish this and do all the other stuff like work, go to school, etc., of course! Many women master it every day with more children than I have!

But for me, I am easily distracted with good and bad things. For me, less is more. I need to sit more at the Lord’s feet. Being a caretaker to my family, it’s not easy and most days I have no idea what I’m doing but it’s worth every moment.

Seasons will come and go. Seasons will bring both good and hard times. But at the end of each of my seasons this one thing remains….God and my family.  I can consume my life with all the things of this world and it will never be enough. But when I consume myself with Jesus; it overflows into my life and my family and it will always be enough.

I pray you find peace in your seasons and know this one thing…Jesus.

My prayer comes from an unknown author who wrote it in the first page of a Bible I purchased at a Consignment shop…

Lord, help me to be a good caretaker for my family. Take my selfishness, impatience, and irritability and turn them into kindness, long-suffering, and the willingness to bear all things. Give me a new heart and work in me your love, peace and joy. I am not able to rise above who I am. Only you can transform me. In Jesus Name, Amen

 

2 thoughts on “But This One Thing…”

Leave a Reply

