Bird Poop Happens!

It had been raining for days in my area. There was a break in the clouds, so I decided to wash my vehicle. You have to know when I do something I do it completely. So I detailed inside and out of my van. I cleaned windows, vacuumed, and wiped down the entire interior. It took approximately two hours to complete the job. I was so proud of my work.

The next morning I went to take my children to school, as we are getting in the van, my oldest son began laughing hysterically. As I sit in the driver’s seat I knew why. A bird not only had pooped on my front windshield once but twice and apparently had diarrhea. I was furious. I spent all that time cleaning just to have a bird mess it up in moments. It was so bad I couldn’t even use the windshield wipers on it for fear of smearing it across the whole windshield. I didn’t have time to clean it and so I had to drive most of the day with this reminder. I stared at it all day. I spend nearly four-six hours in the car each day. So you can imagine the torture of viewing it that long.

I focused on that window, just simmering. I complained to anyone who would listen. And most people just laughed at my story and said, “Isn’t it how life is.”

That afternoon as I sit in the car rider line, I thought about that statement. John 16:33 came to mind.

Jesus said,

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Jesus tells us, we will have trouble. There’s no way around it. We will experience pain, heartache, sickness, and death. But we can’t make that our focus. I thought I have sat here all day and focused on that bird poop. I forgot about the goodness around me like I can see out the back window, the interior was spotless, or what about the passengers who repeatedly told me, “Mom, the van looks great!” “I love riding in a clean van.” “Thank you, mom, for cleaning it.”

My response, “Yeah, but did you see the bird poop?”

This is how life is. We focus on the poop in our life and forget about all the good. We come to a place where all we see and all we want others to see is the poop. It becomes part of the windshield. At any time, I could have said, “that’s enough and cleaned the windshield.” But no, I just wanted to look at it and complain. I wanted others to join me in my pity party.

I asked God for forgiveness; I asked Him to allow me to see past the poop and always be mindful of the good in my life. I asked God to help me; keep my eyes on Him. I thanked Him for my van and my family and for always loving me even when I complain.

The scripture does say, “In this world, we will have trouble,” but it also says, “But take heart! What does that mean? To take heart means to become courageous or confident during a difficult situation. And then Jesus adds, “I have overcome the world.” Jesus is telling us…I got this!

How do I know Jesus has it?

In the midst of sitting in my van that afternoon, it began to rain. It was a downpour. I watched as the rain washed away every trace of bird poop. You see, Jesus can take all your pain, heartache, sickness and death, and leave you as if it was never there. I knew it had been, but when you looked at my van, it was new. I didn’t have to do a thing; I didn’t have to clean it. I just took it to Jesus.

There are many lessons in life and many troubles but one thing is true…Jesus has overcome!

Jesus says, “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.” Peace comes from knowing Jesus has overcome the world. Take heart, my friend!

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be trouble, neither let them be afraid. John 14:27

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

