It’s between my spouse, myself and God.

Todd & I will be married for 25 years on March 18, we have dated for 28 years.
I am not easy to live with…I’m emotional, I panic, I’m spontaneous, and I am afraid of everything!
Todd has gotten mad at me on numerous occasions but he has NEVER called me names, NEVER talked about me to his friends, NEVER sided with anyone else, NEVER run home to his parents or NEVER left me. We have had major MAJOR issues and yet he has never wavered.
On big issues like ones that make or break a relationship, he will tell you, I only need to talk to 2 PEOPLE…God and you.
I value this more than anything in our relationship.
The problem with relationships is you are talking to the wrong people. People will tell you it’s not worth it, you are missing out, or it’s boring. And maybe there are seasons this is true. But these moments don’t define a lifetime. I have never regretted staying. These people who are giving you advice are the very same people who are lonely and miserable with themselves, trying to fill a void with stuff of no value. And because they can’t have what you have, they try to destroy it.
Our marriage isn’t perfect, I’m not perfect, Todd’s not perfect but we serve a God who is perfect.
If Todd & I listen to His voice, we can make it through anything together. Everytime I go to God about Todd, God changes my heart first. He opens my eyes to see what I need to change. If you are going to God just for ammo against your spouse then you are not being lead by the Holy Spirit. The Spirit always guides me. God is intentional and personal. The Word is for me.
The only time Todd or I haven’t been able to work something out is because of our own pride. It’s because I or him wouldn’t not let our pride go. Once we let go of pride…problem solved.
Marriage is ugly sometimes, but it’s only between you, your spouse and God. Tell everyone else to back off!
It’s ok to seek wise Godly counsel at times, but you need to ask yourself, is this person in a committed Godly relationship? Are they as a couple actively walking with and serving Jesus?
If they have never been married or haven’t been married for an extended period of time and don’t know Jesus, PhD or not, you should never heed their advice.
It is so sad to see relationships end because one took advice from unwise ungodly people who have no authority.
You want to know how to fix your marriage, drop your pride, get on your knees in prayer, read the Bible and communicate with your spouse.

Leave a comment